Book reviews

Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

We Were Liars.png

Review: We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Rating: 3.4/5

Genre: Young Adult/Contemporary/Mystery

Publisher: Delacorte Press

Publish Date: May 13th 2014

Length (Kindle edition): 225 Pages

 

Book synopsis:

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.

We Were Liars is a modern, sophisticated suspense novel from New York Times bestselling author, National Book Award finalist, and Printz Award honoree E. Lockhart.

Read it.

And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.

 

My review:

Before I begin, I must say, that though I was disappointed in this book, it was a record for me, completing it in one three-or-so-hour-long sitting! I have never finished a book so quickly, so it was obviously compelling if nothing else. I’m not going to spoil anything, because, as the synopsis suggests, everyone is expected to “go in blind”. I just don’t really understand why.

This is the favourite book of one of my dear friends, and it’s up there on another one’s list. My friend (who holds this book in higher regard than I can fathom) more than encouraged me to read this, so eventually I picked it up and did. The first few pages really hooked me in. I really was intrigued.

Then it got worse. And better.

Suffice to say, this book confused me more than the climate of the area in which I live.

The *boyfriend* (as I so affectionately name them) if you can even call him that… was extremely weird, in my humble opinion. I will wave my white flag here and say, yes, I know this wasn’t a romance but why include the strange yes/no/yes/no of those two characters? Sure, it probably added to the plot in some way but I read this a few weeks ago so blame my not remembering possibly important details on that, please. And perhaps weird is the wrong word. More… unusual, maybe. he had strange tendencies and ways of behaving, shall we say. I didn’t understand him in the slightest, to say the least.

There were a number of things I liked about this book! Don’t get me wrong. The writing was honestly beautiful. It was set out interestingly (yes, we can all appreciate nice formatting, can we not?) and good grief there’s one hell of a plot twist that I never saw coming.

HOWEVER! I just do. Not. Understand. Feel free to message me to enlighten me. Free me from my misunderstanding, but I thought the ending was horrible, and not in that good/horrible way most bookworms learn to love! I’m seriously finding it so hard not to spoil anything here.

Ok. I would encourage you to read this book. Really. Just to see if it messes with your head as much as it messes with mine! It has raving reviews from nearly every book reviewer/worm I follow or know personally, and I feel I missed something crucial. Here I am explaining why I didn’t like it but also suggesting you read it? Who knows. I’m lost.

If you read on beware there is a spoiler here!

Stop now if you don’t want this to be spoiled for you!

 

There are dogs. Dogs are my weakness. Something terrible happens to said dogs, and this is NOT OKAY.

See now I’m doubting. I think I take everything back. I think it might be amazing. But I DON’T KNOW! We’ll just leave it at this healthy approximately 3 star rating and my confusion can fester.

Favourite quote: There is not even a Scrabble word for how bad I feel.

Did I cry: I did. But I doubt it was at the point when most people did.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

