Book reviews · Uncategorized

Review: Beautiful Darkness by Kami Garcia

IMG_4128
Find this photo and similar ones on my Instagram account: @bookedinbookblog

Rating: 4/5 stars

Genre: YA, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance

Publisher: Little Brown and Company

Publication Date: October 12th 2010

Length (hardcover): 503 pages

 

 

Book synopsis:

Ethan Wate used to think of Gatlin, the small Southern town he had always called home, as a place where nothing ever changed. Then he met mysterious newcomer Lena Duchannes, who revealed a secret world that had been hidden in plain sight all along. A Gatlin that harbored ancient secrets beneath its moss-covered oaks and cracked sidewalks. A Gatlin where a curse has marked Lena’s family of powerful Supernaturals for generations. A Gatlin where impossible, magical, life-altering events happen.

Sometimes life-ending.

Together they can face anything Gatlin throws at them, but after suffering a tragic loss, Lena starts to pull away, keeping secrets that test their relationship. And now that Ethan’s eyes have been opened to the darker side of Gatlin, there’s no going back. Haunted by strange visions only he can see, Ethan is pulled deeper into his town’s tangled history and finds himself caught up in the dangerous network of underground passageways endlessly crisscrossing the South, where nothing is as it seems.

 My Spoiler-free review!

After finishing Beautiful Creatures at some ungodly hour, I then (of course) proceeded to read the sequel; Beautiful Darkness. Who knows what hour I read until. It was worth it. I also must have read this book in a trillion geographical locations, because I was travelling back to New Zealand from Australia.

This book began like most sequels, reminding me of things I already knew in case I read the first book a couple of moon cycles ago. But, no – I’d just swiped to the next book. That is not a criticism. It is a very helpful thing if there was a time gap! Ethan was recapping the quaint town of Gatlin, mentioning the many old ladies (as you do). But that was sort of just a prologue! The first *proper* chapter ripped my heart out. Yep – I started crying a few minutes in. And! My tears became so much more meaningful when I came to the end of this book! It was so poignant and written so beautifully, I truly felt like I could relate even though I’ve never experienced anything remotely similar. A new character was introduced in this book, and though I was sceptical of her in the beginning, I soon grew to love her. I love how she was incorporated and made into some sort of a complication.

An interesting note is that I had no idea how far through the book I was, because the eBook had the whole series. Example: you are 34% through the entire series. How far through the book am I? Do I times this number by four? Regardless, it was kind of nice “flying blind.” Even though it mostly made me mad. Obviously I could tell when it was drawing to a close, and boy, was the close interesting! The one thing I will say disappointed me a little was the actual ending, as in, the last lines, we pretty much verbatim the previous book’s, plus one (read them and you’ll know what I mean 🙂 ) It did end in a way I was happy with, though, overall. Really happy with.

I’m taking a break from Beautiful Creatures for a little while, mainly to get through some of my TBR! I would highly recommend this book, and the one before it, of course.

Did I cry? All. The. Time.

Favourite quote: “It’s good to see you, Mr Wate.”

Honourable mention: “Still, I opened the screen door and stuck a red sticker on Lucille’s head.”

Leave a Reply

